Sleep, Dogs and Rock ‘n’ Roll

It’s raining. I love the sound of rain on the roof when I’m inside. Who doesn’t? Rain is just what we need in this part of the world right now. It’s Summer and we tend to get droughts here – Last year’s was particularly bad. We also get floods, and the occasional volcanic eruption. This is New Zealand. I’ve seen snow on Christmas Day here – how bizzare!

I was trying to sleep this afternoon. I didn’t sleep well last night: A dog in the hallway started practicing fire-engine imitations in the small hours and I was awoken again later by another pooch sticking a nose in my ear (That tickles).
Anyway, this afternoon. I had been asleep for maybe fifteen minutes, but was tossing and turning, and then the rumbling started. It’s a low rumble similar to a heavy train close by or even a high wind giving the trees hell. But still different, and when you hear that rumble – you know what’s coming…

Earthquake!

Earthquakes are not uncommon here, but they can be scary. The worst thing is, once it starts – there is no way of knowing how long it’s going to last or how bad it’s going to get. This one wasn’t too long or too short (is there an optimal length?) but rocked and rolled a fair bit and it was one of the stronger ones I’ve felt. It was felt the entire length of the country and caused some minor damage – though we’ve had worse in the last 6 months. The two dogs staying at my house – I thought they would go nuts but they were calmer than I was and didn’t seem fussed at all.

The dust and the day are now settled, and a gentle evening rain cools the earth.

Leave a Reply

