Edit Me

Editing. I’ve learnt that editing is not only necessary, it is also fun. It can also become a problem; a curse. No matter how many times I proof-read, there is nearly always at least one embarrassing and blatantly obvious grammar mistake in every post I make. I clean those up as soon as I notice them. The worst of it though, is reading my older posts. It’s not that there is anything wrong with them, it’s just that I want to tear them to shreds and re-assemble them, because I can see how much better they would be if I just changed this sentence and used this word instead of that one and put in the bit about the trans-galactic, trans-sexual dentist who…

Where to stop?

Nothing will ever be perfect – I know that. But how good is good enough? As I get better at writing, I expect to view my earlier work through an ever-more-critical lens. Do I leave my earlier work intact so I can see how far I’ve come. Do I slap it into better shape, remove it from public display or simply burn it in disgust? I imagine that burning a WordPress blog would be somewhat problematic.

I’m sure there is a space between professionalism and obsessive perfectionism, I just haven’t found it yet.

Have you found yours?

Leave a Reply

