Snails to Zen

Snails keep their eyes on the ends of antennae-like appendages which look as if they would ensure good reception of radio broadcasts.  

Which brings me to the topic of radio (If I start on about tv, I will never finish).

Radio.
As much as I hate advertising, I love good music, and there are still, surprisingly, a handful of radio stations that play good music. So I listen to the radio in the car – usually on the way to and from work. Unfortunately, in between the great songs, there are long passages of PEOPLE YELLING AT ME! and I hate it! I used to counter the aural assault by turning the volume right down when the ads came on and then bringing it back up when I heard music come back. Eventually I got so pissed off that I just stopped having the radio on altogether … and something unexpected happened.

I began to notice that on radio-free mornings, I was much calmer when I arrived at work. Sometimes I will listen to a cassette-tape (remember those?) or MP3 player but, more often than not, It really is nicer with the sound off.

If you listen to the radio in the car, purely out of habit – I challenge you to try a few days without it and take note of how you feel.  Post your findings on your blog.

Leave a Reply

