Drawstring Pouch.

I put Walnuts in it

I’ve been sewing for longer than five minutes; approximately two days in fact, though it’s not entirely my fault. I never set out to stitch and fabricate, but my mother gave me a sewing machine. What’s a man to do?

I have vague recollections of sewing classes at school, 25 years ago. A drawstring bag (not the one in the photo) and a pillowcase resulted. The pillowcase was made from an ugly striped material. The first night I used it, I drooled on it and had nightmares. I never used it again.

Back to the present. Behold! – My new sewing machine has an instruction manual that actually makes sense (I didn’t know they existed). It also came with an instructional DVD containing printable patterns and instructions for two simple projects: a drawstring bag and tote bag.

It’s never that simple though, is it? First you need to practice using the machine, but that’s the least of your worries. Before you make anything, you need to spend money on materials.

Fabric is the first hurdle, and is far more complicated than necessary. Not only is it available in more than one colour, there are different types, and not all types play the same way. It doesn’t stop there either. Fabric has a right side, and a wrong side. Consider yourself warned. If you are a heterosexual male however, there is a silver lining; your local fabric store is full of women (just don’t get on their wrong side or rub against their nap).

You need to stock up on a variety of weapons, mostly in the form of blades (VERY sharp scissors and seam-rippers) and spikes (pins and needles). That’s the fun part, but you will prick yourself later.

Ok, we’re all set. Making the drawstring pouch (the one in the photo – this time) really was straightforward. All I had to do was follow the instructions. I used cotton fabric, but in the good-old-days they used to make pouches from the scrotum of a bull. Thought you should know that.

I didn’t know what to do with the bag at first, so I put walnuts in it and took a photo. Now I’m using it to store my sewing weapons.  Next project will be cushion covers.

One thought on “I put Walnuts in it

Leave a Reply

